Can't import OPML at all

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
metronomista
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 19:25

Can't import OPML at all

Postby metronomista » 02 Jun 2012, 20:13


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby fox » 03 Jun 2012, 17:28

Post the full "page containing errors" here or on pastebin.

User avatar
gmargo
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 62
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 22:33
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby gmargo » 03 Jun 2012, 18:43

So many things are strange about this.

1. The </dlg> almost certainly came from ttrss, not google reader or rsslounge. (classes/dlg.php: Dlg->after()).
2. An error on line 3? Should probably just be a <head> on line 3.
3. A warning about "Cannot modify header information - headers already sent" implies that you have two html documents concatenated together.

It makes me wonder how you are doing the import/export, although I only know of one way for import.
Somehow the document got corrupted.

Could there be a locale problem?

BTW, opml export through a published link seems broken.

Personally I came from Google Reader and had no problem with exporting there and importing into ttrss (other than ordering issues.) I've also exported from and imported to ttrss many times for testing purposes, always without corrupting the output or getting any errors on input.

I second fox's request for your ompl file. (and the errors)

metronomista
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 19:25

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby metronomista » 03 Jun 2012, 19:15


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby fox » 03 Jun 2012, 19:34


User avatar
gmargo
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 62
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 22:33
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby gmargo » 03 Jun 2012, 19:47

I just retested opml export from firefox, chromium, and epiphany (now inexplicably called "web"), all under Ubuntu 12.04. I get identical valid results from each.

I would try from Windows except that my Windows box decided that yesterday was a very good day to die. :(

metronomista
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 19:25

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby metronomista » 03 Jun 2012, 19:50

Thanks again for your prompt reply.


It really is possible that i have some php problems. I'm trying to install on a shared server (dreamhost shared), I am not able to run persistent processes (So next phase will be looking at how will i update my feeds without any daemon :D).


But... truth be told, I used tt-rss in this same server a few years ago. I didn't remember to experience any problems neither installing not updating (I'm receiving an error of "daemon not running" now when i reload the page). But this time, though the application is much more perfect, I'm being unable to get it set up...



Seeing the reply from gmargo (while I was writing here), I'll maybe start from a clean schema again, and see what happens... it is what i did yesterday, but maybe something went wrong.
Attachments
Captura de pantalla 2012-06-03 a las 17.44.47.png
Iframe content
Captura de pantalla 2012-06-03 a las 17.44.47.png (66.77 KiB) Viewed 4678 times

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby fox » 03 Jun 2012, 20:06


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby fox » 03 Jun 2012, 20:08

Unless I'm missing something I think you've posted the browser error message again, can you do view source on the iframe box that appears and post that? It shouldn't contain "opening and ending tag mismatch", just server output, e.g. cannot modify header information warning and broken XML markup afterwards.

I don't think it's something with your tt-rss setup, PHP or other server configuration weirdness seems much more likely.

User avatar
gmargo
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 62
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 22:33
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby gmargo » 03 Jun 2012, 20:20

I've only run ttrss under Apache's mod-php.

These Dreamhost instructions: http://wiki.dreamhost.com/Installing_PHP5 say to choose PHP CGI or FastCGI.
Could that be related?

metronomista
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 19:25

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby metronomista » 03 Jun 2012, 20:28

Thanks again,


new data :)


1. On DHost server, dropped the database and started from a clean schema. Though the error persists, it actually imports the feeds (when using google reader's export opml).

2. On my local machine (which I can admin at will), it imports everything smoothly without any errors being printed.


So it is definitely something with that server... I'll look into the link gmargo posted, but I think I'm already using Fastcgi with php 5.3, so I dont know if something else could be made :)


Thanks agaiN!

User avatar
gmargo
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 62
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 22:33
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby gmargo » 03 Jun 2012, 20:41

Here's a possible patch. The before() and after() routines are unbalanced, I think.
It doesn't seem to make any difference in my setup, but it might for yours.

--code deleted--

EDIT: this can't be right, can it? I'm confusing inherited objects, dang it. I've got another patch, testing now..

metronomista
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 19:25

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby metronomista » 03 Jun 2012, 20:53

Applied the patch and the error persists, but the feeds are still being imported...


As I hope the few users that will use the instance of ttrss may eventually import their feeds, my main issue now is updating feeds without any daemon.

I'm usually running scheduled actions on websites through wget of update scripts, but using wget seems to require a background daemon (that I may not have in that server).

This option in should be enough, but I'm trying to run it every few minutes (to debug) and nothing happens...

User avatar
gmargo
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 62
Joined: 08 Jan 2012, 22:33
Location: Silicon Valley

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby gmargo » 03 Jun 2012, 20:58

Attachments
dlg.patch3.gz
Third version
(367 Bytes) Downloaded 124 times

metronomista
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 02 Jun 2012, 19:25

Re: Can't import OPML at all

Postby metronomista » 03 Jun 2012, 21:05

thanks for the patch, no problem I can apply it just taking the code :)


PS. On my local machine, the preferred way of updating feeds is working fine. Again, the problem seems to be in the shared server I want to use (as my laptop is not online --nor with fast connection-- 24/7)


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests