Feeds not updating via Cron

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
Bobjespat
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 34
Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 11:43
Location: near Munich/Germany
Contact:

Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby Bobjespat » 05 Apr 2013, 15:18


User avatar
markwaters
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 32
Joined: 20 May 2008, 13:10
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby markwaters » 05 Apr 2013, 16:24

or you can simplify a little with :-

*/5 * * * * php /usr/share/ttrss/update.php --feeds --quiet

Bobjespat
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 34
Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 11:43
Location: near Munich/Germany
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby Bobjespat » 05 Apr 2013, 16:47

its generated via Webmin :-) but hx for your suggestion. But the point is, that it doesnt update my feeds. Do i start it manualy, it works without problems.

Bobjespat
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 34
Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 11:43
Location: near Munich/Germany
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby Bobjespat » 05 Apr 2013, 17:12

I have seen, that i have set aditionaly SIMPLE_UPDATE_MODE to true in config.php. Does this interrupt the Cron Variant? I have tought, that this is only a fallback thing.

Additionaly, if i have Cron Updateing enabled, and i view my TT-RSS Installation via Mobile Browser in Digest Version, does the Cron Update the feeds also automaticly? I think so but im a little it confused, sorry.

User avatar
LifeWOutMilk
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 52
Joined: 02 Apr 2013, 21:57

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby LifeWOutMilk » 05 Apr 2013, 20:29


smeerbartje
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 23:24
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby smeerbartje » 06 Apr 2013, 12:03

You should also point out where to find php... do a "which php" and put the complete path into the cronjob. For example: /usr/bin/php /var/www/ttrss/update.php

[edit for moderation]
Sorry, have replied twice... didn't notice that my posts are moderated... :D

Bobjespat
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 34
Joined: 15 Mar 2013, 11:43
Location: near Munich/Germany
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby Bobjespat » 06 Apr 2013, 15:28

Path to php is ok, manualy it works, but not via Cron. Other Cronjobs do work. Today it seems, that it works. The only vhange i have made, is that i "resaved" yesterday the Cron Entry after update to 1.7.8. But i think that this is not necessary... I dont know why it works now and before it doenst work...

smeerbartje
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 23:24
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby smeerbartje » 06 Apr 2013, 20:56

Your cron actually points to absolute location of php binary?

korthrun
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 20:18
Location: Earth

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby korthrun » 09 Apr 2013, 20:24


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby fox » 09 Apr 2013, 20:45

1. check per-feed and global update intervals
2. run update.php --force-update

jonnberg
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 21:17

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby jonnberg » 09 Apr 2013, 21:18

I had this too and it turned out that I edited crontab as root (with sudo) rather than using my non-root user.

korthrun
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 20:18
Location: Earth

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby korthrun » 09 Apr 2013, 21:23


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby fox » 09 Apr 2013, 21:51

>I am fairly confident, but not 100% sure that it was set to "Disabled" before the update.

This is the global update interval for feeds. If your feeds updated previously with this set to disabled, than it was a bug that got fixed.

smeerbartje
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 67
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 23:24
Contact:

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby smeerbartje » 09 Apr 2013, 22:06

Can someone please explain me what the "Default interval between feed updates" option in the preferences pane does? I am running the "update.php" in --daemon mode, what exactly does this mean? Does this mean that it "processes" all feeds and waits for 30 minutes (the time set in the preferences pane)???

Image

korthrun
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 4
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 20:18
Location: Earth

Re: Feeds not updating via Cron

Postby korthrun » 09 Apr 2013, 22:11



Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests