opml import/export killing apache

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

opml import/export killing apache

Postby sleeper_service » 27 May 2013, 12:33

I'm running trunk, commit df2655e01566f3c59337a020b1d70054ff585d75, Sun May 26 10:21:54 2013 +0400, apache 2.2.22, and I'm seeing this both on pgsql and mysql.

I'm working on converting over from mysql to pgsql, and after my database expert got scared of the data conversion and went off mountain biking for the weekend, and reading the advice to start over with a fresh db and just import OPML, I'm attempting to do that.

I've created a new pg db, dumped the schema onto it, then after exporting my opml for my account, I popped over to the new pg copy, and upon trying to import, I get a small window saying that the connection was reset.

checking the logs in the server, this is all there is:

Code: Select all

[Mon May 27 03:21:16 2013] [notice] child pid 17419 exit signal Segmentation fault (11)
[Mon May 27 03:21:16 2013] [notice] caught SIGTERM, shutting down


I tried multiple times, and eventually, without changing anything that I could find, it worked.

same thing happened with another account.

now, on a third account, I'm getting the same behavior in the old, mysql pointing copy, on *export* of the opml file. url that's failing is:
http://www/ttrss/backend.php?op=opml&me ... settings=1

I don't see any other errors anywhere, on the system log, apache log, or ttrss internal log.

is there a way to get more debugging info? I hate posting a "it just dies" post.
Last edited by sleeper_service on 27 May 2013, 12:46, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby fox » 27 May 2013, 12:42

You can PM me your OPML file, I'll take a look.

>is there a way I

And then there was silence.

Edit: dang

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby sleeper_service » 27 May 2013, 12:47

I can't even export one with the third account.
I'll pm you one of the first two.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby sleeper_service » 27 May 2013, 13:02

fox wrote:
>is there a way I

And then there was silence.

Edit: dang


it's just an echo caused by my helpless feeling caused by not having any useful informtion when posting what appears to be a bug. :(

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby fox » 27 May 2013, 13:02

Unfortunately it imported just fine here. Strange. In any case, php shouldn't just segfault, unless something else is going on, especially if it happens on export.

Try disabling APC temporarily and checking if you are running mod_spdy with mod_php or something like that.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby sleeper_service » 27 May 2013, 13:10

fox wrote:Try disabling APC temporarily and checking if you are running mod_spdy with mod_php or something like that.


I don't have APC loaded, and definately don't have mod_spdy.

I don't seem to be having any problems except on the opml export/import, at least, none that I've noticed.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby fox » 27 May 2013, 13:13

You can try going back through changeset history for classes/opml.php but I'm not sure if that'll help. The only recent changes regarding it were DB-related and it shouldn't cause php crashes. :(

You can also try getting a stacktrace from crashed php process and looking through it using gdb.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby sleeper_service » 27 May 2013, 13:35

fox wrote:You can try going back through changeset history for classes/opml.php but I'm not sure if that'll help. The only recent changes regarding it were DB-related and it shouldn't cause php crashes. :(

You can also try getting a stacktrace from crashed php process and looking through it using gdb.


you don't ask for much... ;)

Code: Select all

Core was generated by `/opt/csw/apache2/sbin/httpd -f /opt/csw/apache2/etc/httpd.conf -k start -DSSL'.
Program terminated with signal 11, Segmentation fault.
[New process 85559    ]
#0  0xfe0f1c7c in _free_unlocked () from /lib/libc.so.1
(gdb) bt
#0  0xfe0f1c7c in _free_unlocked () from /lib/libc.so.1
#1  0xfe0f1c2c in free () from /lib/libc.so.1
#2  0xfb4d8781 in xmlFreeParserCtxt () from /opt/csw/lib/libxml2.so.2
#3  0xfc2c262a in dom_document_parser ()
   from /opt/csw/php5/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20090626/dom.so
#4  0xfc2c26e5 in dom_parse_document ()
   from /opt/csw/php5/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20090626/dom.so
#5  0xfc2c28ff in zim_domdocument_loadXML ()
   from /opt/csw/php5/lib/php/extensions/no-debug-non-zts-20090626/dom.so
#6  0xfb0ebc55 in zend_do_fcall_common_helper_SPEC ()
   from /opt/csw/apache2/libexec/libphp5.so
#7  0xfb0ebf1c in ZEND_DO_FCALL_BY_NAME_SPEC_HANDLER ()
   from /opt/csw/apache2/libexec/libphp5.so
#8  0xfb0eaa0a in execute () from /opt/csw/apache2/libexec/libphp5.so
#9  0xfb0c59fe in zend_execute_scripts ()
   from /opt/csw/apache2/libexec/libphp5.so
#10 0xfb069c86 in php_execute_script ()
   from /opt/csw/apache2/libexec/libphp5.so
#11 0xfb155a0f in php_handler () from /opt/csw/apache2/libexec/libphp5.so
#12 0x0807d56c in ap_run_handler ()
#13 0x0807dad4 in ap_invoke_handler ()
#14 0x080894b2 in ap_process_request ()
#15 0x08086f4b in ?? ()
---Type <return> to continue, or q <return> to quit---
#16 0x085c45f0 in ?? ()
#17 0x00000004 in ?? ()
#18 0x085c45f0 in ?? ()
#19 0xfd391b78 in ?? () from /opt/csw/apache2/libexec/mod_reqtimeout.so
#20 0x0842abb8 in ?? ()
#21 0x08420ca8 in ?? ()
#22 0xfeffeb88 in ?? ()
#23 0x08420ca8 in ?? ()
#24 0x0818cf14 in ?? ()
#25 0x00000001 in ?? ()
#26 0xfeffeba8 in ?? ()
#27 0x080838ac in ap_run_process_connection ()
Backtrace stopped: frame did not save the PC
(gdb)



does that help?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby fox » 27 May 2013, 14:00

This looks like a crash in _free() which could indicate memory corruption or something like that causing PHP to free things multiple times. This sounds like a problem with php domdocument on your system. Going by the csw paths it's solaris, right?

I'm about 99% certain it's not a problem with tt-rss, it doesn't do anything peculiar with domdocument, and even if it did, it shouldn't crash php interpreter.

Edit: worst case scenario, you can import opml on a linux vm and export/import the database, obviously this is quite clumsy.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby sleeper_service » 27 May 2013, 14:05

fox wrote:This looks like a crash in _free() which could indicate memory corruption or something like that causing PHP to free things multiple times. This sounds like a problem with php domdocument on your system. Going by the csw paths it's solaris, right?

I'm about 99% certain it's not a problem with tt-rss, it doesn't do anything peculiar with domdocument, and even if it did, it shouldn't crash php interpreter.

Edit: worst case scenario, you can import opml on a linux vm and export/import the database, obviously this is quite clumsy.


good guess, yes, solaris.

hrm. I'll see about setting up a ttrss copy on one of the linux boxes.

thanks for looking at it.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: opml import/export killing apache

Postby sleeper_service » 27 May 2013, 14:29

well, your suggestion worked nicely. (already had apache and php on my mythtv server, so it was quick to add pg support and a quick copy of ttrss.)

thanks.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests