[Android] Offline mode bug?

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
frnx
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee

[Android] Offline mode bug?

Postby frnx » 15 Jun 2013, 15:38

Hi all,

I've been using Tiny Tiny RSS's official Android app for a few months since Google Reader's demise, and it's pretty much replaced it entirely, and more. Thanks to all of you who made that possible, and thanks Andrew!

One of the great features of the app (and one I haven't found in any other feed reader) is the offline mode. However, it currently forces me to leave the app open while the offline sync runs, which is mildly annoying. If I do not, here is what happens :

* I open the app, click on "Offline mode"
* A notification pops up, saying "Preparation"
* Meanwhile, I open another app (GMail for example, because I just got a notification) without waiting for Tiny Tiny RSS to finish syncing
* After a while, the Tiny Tiny RSS notification disappears (so the sync should be done, right?)
* When I go back to Tiny Tiny RSS a while later (I even tried doing that more than 10 minutes later), nothing happened at all
* If I click again on "Offline mode", it says "Offline sync is running, Cancel or Continue?"
* If I shut down the network there and click on "Offline mode" again, it tries to download everything again and I can't access any downloaded feed

I hope that was clear enough. It's a rather annoying bug, precisely because I'm not exactly sure what's causing it. Does that happen to anyone else?

I might be able to fix it if I can find it in the source, but I'm not so familiar with the app's code, so it might take a while. If anybody is aware of it an currently trying to fix it, it'd be great to know about it so that we don't do needless work.

fox
^ me reading your posts ^

Re: [Android] Offline mode bug?

Postby fox » 15 Jun 2013, 15:46