Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
soapdish
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 09:12

Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby soapdish » 17 Jun 2013, 09:14

Guys this is driving me mad - I cannot seem to find any options!

I have the Tiny Tiny RSS Server behind a proxy and I need to use the proxy.

Any help appreciated.

Many thanks.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby sleeper_service » 17 Jun 2013, 10:05

soapdish wrote:Guys this is driving me mad - I cannot seem to find any options!

I have the Tiny Tiny RSS Server behind a proxy and I need to use the proxy.

Any help appreciated.

Many thanks.

Hello, Psychic tech support, we already know what your problem is, and what stupid thing you've done, don't tell us, we know why you called.

put tab a into slot b, like the istructions said, good by.

no no, we know your credit card numbers and bank accounts, we'll take our fee at our convenience.

soapdish
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 09:12

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby soapdish » 17 Jun 2013, 11:05

Hi there, sorry.

I was expecting a config file - say for example how apt-get has a config file in /etc/apt/apt.conf - to enable the server to route web traffic through a proxy server.

I was after the same effect, that is to make the Tiny Tiny RSS server download the feeds through a proxy, to prevent firewall policy problems with direct connections to the internet.

Thanks,

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby fox » 17 Jun 2013, 11:09

proxies are not supported

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

soapdish
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 3
Joined: 17 Jun 2013, 09:12

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby soapdish » 17 Jun 2013, 11:26

Thanks a mill

Cheetah
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 18
Joined: 13 Mar 2013, 21:18

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby Cheetah » 22 Aug 2013, 05:18

Since tt-rss uses libcurl to fetch content, you should be able configure your web server to set environment variables libcurl looks at to determine proxies to use. The curl manpage (http://curl.haxx.se/docs/manual.html) has good info on what those are. Setting the environment vars from the web server is left as an exercise for your google-fu.

xtaz
Bear Rating Master
Bear Rating Master
Posts: 174
Joined: 24 Dec 2009, 16:48

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby xtaz » 22 Aug 2013, 12:02

It uses curl via the PHP extension though which means the environment is likely ignored. I think you would have to edit the tt-rss code and add some setopt statements as shown here: http://uk3.php.net/manual/en/function.curl-setopt.php . If you search for PROXY on that page you can find all the options you can set related to proxies. If you look at include/functions.php and search for curl_setopt you can find where these options appear to be set.

If you wanted to do it properly you would make the options conditional based on some statements in the config.php and then maybe send fox a pull request :D You would also want to make it work with image caching as well as fetching feeds and favicons unless it uses the same function. I've not looked at the code in that much detail, just grepped it quickly.

project76
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 3
Joined: 18 Jun 2016, 01:28

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby project76 » 05 Aug 2016, 20:25

So in config.php:

// Why this isn't defined by default, who knows?
define('_CURL_HTTP_PROXY', 'http://proxyserver:3128');

Or whatever port you are using if not Squid on 3128.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Tiny Tiny RSS behind a Proxy

Postby fox » 05 Aug 2016, 22:33

while this would partially work using this and other hidden constants is not recommended


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests