Page 1 of 2

Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articles'?

Posted: 03 Jul 2013, 11:18
by mikkelnl
Hello,

I can find a few threads about a similar subject, but none seem to discuss this:

I have a category setup, in which I have a few feeds. These feeds are non-essential to me, and I would like to hide them from the 'Fresh Articles' section. And I'd only like to check them manually by clicking on the category.

As far as I can tell, this is not possible right? So I would like to automatically let TT-RSS refresh the feeds, but simply not show them in 'Fresh Articles'.

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 03 Jul 2013, 11:24
by tbar
Have you tried this: Edit Feed -> Options -> Hide from Popular feeds

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 03 Jul 2013, 11:29
by mikkelnl
tbar wrote:Have you tried this: Edit Feed -> Options -> Hide from Popular feeds

Yes, but as I understand, the 'Popular feeds' option hides it from exported feeds or something, I believe this is explained somewhere on this boiard ;)

So in short; yes tried it, but no, seems to have a different meaning :)

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 03 Jul 2013, 11:38
by oiboddl
I am interested in the same thing. I have also tried to exclude feeds from the "popular feeds", but the feeds still showed up in the fresh articles. So this option does not help here.

I have also got the impression, that there is no way to prevent some feeds to show up in the fresh articles. :?

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 03 Jul 2013, 23:49
by eswald
I'm tempted to implement this. It looks like implementing this as a new per-feed preference involves:

  • A new column on the ttrss_feeds table, created by files in schema/versions/{my,pg}sql/$VERSION.sql, bumping SCHEMA_VERSION in include/functions.php and probably reloading schema/ttrss_schema_{my,pg}sql.sql;
  • A new checkbox in the feed edit page, shown by classes/pref/feeds.php::editfeed() and ::editfeeds(), then saved by js/prefs.js::editSelectedFeeds() and classes/pref/feeds.php::editsaveops(); and
  • Query modifications for $feed number -3 in include/functions.php::catchup_feed(), ::getFeedArticles(), and ::queryFeedHeadlines().

Total: two new and five modified files. Am I missing anything?

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 01:33
by LifeWOutMilk
Why not use Scoring?

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 10:59
by mikkelnl
LifeWOutMilk wrote:Why not use Scoring?

Could you explain a bit more? I can't (yet) see how scroing would make it possible to hide a category of feeds from Fresh Articles?

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 11:19
by sleeper_service
mikkelnl wrote:
LifeWOutMilk wrote:Why not use Scoring?

Could you explain a bit more? I can't (yet) see how scroing would make it possible to hide a category of feeds from Fresh Articles?


should I mock you for not reading the wiki page on scoring, or were you confused by this line:

<0 Score indicator is half-filled dark, 1.5.0: article is excluded from Fresh feed and (as of 1.5.10 also excluded from email digest)

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 11:25
by LifeWOutMilk
Create a filter matching the category you want to exclude from Fresh feeds and give all articles in that category a negative score. This will keep it out of the Fresh feeds category.

ttrss exclude from fresh feeds.png
ttrss exclude from fresh feeds.png (11.85 KiB) Viewed 4944 times

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 11:31
by mikkelnl
sleeper_service wrote:
mikkelnl wrote:
LifeWOutMilk wrote:Why not use Scoring?

Could you explain a bit more? I can't (yet) see how scroing would make it possible to hide a category of feeds from Fresh Articles?


should I mock you for not reading the wiki page on scoring, or were you confused by this line:

<0 Score indicator is half-filled dark, 1.5.0: article is excluded from Fresh feed and (as of 1.5.10 also excluded from email digest)

:roll:

:lol:

Dude, yeah I missed that, maybe because English isn't my native language, and yeah sure you may mock me if that makes you feel less annoyed by this thread or my posts... :wink:

LifeWOutMilk wrote:Create a filter matching the category you want to exclude from Fresh feeds and give all articles in that category a negative score. This will keep it out of the Fresh feeds category.

ttrss exclude from fresh feeds.png

THANK you! :)

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 18:56
by LifeWOutMilk
Actually it looks like you might need to use

Code: Select all

.*
for the search expression instead of just

Code: Select all

*

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 19:25
by four2six
i don't get this to work completely.
i chose ".*" on Title in the according feed. I did this for multiple feeds.
Action is "Modify score: -1"
"Enabled" and "Match any rule" are ticked.
Logged out, back in.

Still, some of the feeds appear in fresh articles. Does this only apply to new articles since the filter?

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 19:43
by fox
try reading the wiki

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 19:48
by four2six
thx

the wiki says "<0 Score indicator is half-filled dark, 1.5.0: article is excluded from Fresh feed and (as of 1.5.10 also excluded from email digest)"

i give the article a -1. so that should exclude it from the fresh articles list. but it doesn't.

Re: Possible to hide a Category (or feed) from 'Fresh Articl

Posted: 04 Jul 2013, 20:11
by LifeWOutMilk
It won't apply to articles that were previously imported, only on new articles. You can manually assign a score to articles that have been previously imported if you like.

Also, you can verify that you have the correct search expression by using the Test button in the Edit Filter dialog.