Page 1 of 1

Issue with feed widths

Posted: 27 Jul 2013, 02:28
by Sl0th
Hi,
I've been using tt-rss for a few years (Thanks for the great software!), but I've ran across an issue since updating from 1.6 to 1.9.

Some feeds don't take up the full width available, and generally look bad. It seems that the feeds I'm having issues with use Feedburner (I know!), but it didn't happen with 1.6 using SimplePie so perhaps something has changed?

Feed in 1.6
Feed in 1.9

Thanks.

EDIT: also happening with non-feedburner feeds

Re: Issue with feed widths

Posted: 27 Jul 2013, 09:27
by lotrfan
This is set (I think) in the CSS.

Try adding to your custom css:

Code: Select all

div.postContent p,
body#ttrssZoom div.postContent p,
body#ttrssZoom div.postContent img,
div.cdmContentInner p {
    max-width: none !important;
}

to have it fill the entire width, or change "none" to some other value to make it bigger (it's "650px" by default).
(note: this is untested [but it should work...] )

Re: Issue with feed widths

Posted: 29 Jul 2013, 21:36
by fox
Max width is by design, you can easily override it using CSS as described above if you don't like how it looks.

Re: Issue with feed widths

Posted: 30 Jul 2013, 09:04
by roshambo
lotrfan: the css didn't have any effect with none or 1250px, any other ideas? Strange some feeds fill the width while others don't.

Re: Issue with feed widths

Posted: 30 Jul 2013, 10:53
by lotrfan
roshambo wrote:lotrfan: the css didn't have any effect with none or 1250px, any other ideas?

Works fine here (width > 1200px) using (mostly) stock 1.9...
Image

What OS and browser are you using? The above is using Chromium on Linux.

roshambo wrote:Strange some feeds fill the width while others don't.

I'm not sure what this means... Do you mean that some feeds use the entire width (> 650px), and some are still wrapping at ~650px? If that's the case, then the max-width is probably set within the feed itself. To "fix" it, you could probably use something like

Code: Select all

div.postContent *,
div.cdmContentInner * {
    max-width: none !important;
}

(also untested) but it will probably break some feed layouts as well.

Re: Issue with feed widths

Posted: 30 Jul 2013, 11:24
by roshambo
Thanks, that fills the width of the text but not other elements, any way for those to fill as well? It does move a few lines of text to the right of the image instead of below it. Otherwise windows chrome fills the width of most feeds here with 1.8/1.9.