in place upgrade under command line

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
MrSmith
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 13:19

in place upgrade under command line

Postby MrSmith » 03 Aug 2013, 13:28

i wish to perform an in-place upgrade to tt-rss under the command line (linux machine).
i have followed the installation notes over http://tt-rss.org/redmine/projects/tt-rss/wiki/InstallationNotes, and executed

Code: Select all

php5 update.php --update_self
on the parent directory. i have given the following output on my rpi machine:

Code: Select all

[email protected] ~ $ php5 tt-rss/update.php --update_self
PHP Deprecated:  Comments starting with '#' are deprecated in /etc/php5/cli/conf.d/ming.ini on line 1 in Unknown on line 0
[08:52:17/5874] Lock: update.lock
[08:52:17/5874] READ THE FOLLOWING BEFORE CONTINUING!
[08:52:17/5874] * It is suggested to backup your tt-rss directory first.
[08:52:17/5874] * Your database will not be modified.
[08:52:17/5874] * Your current tt-rss installation directory will not be modified. It will be renamed and left in the parent directory. You will be able to migrate all your customized files after update finishes.
[08:52:17/5874] Type 'yes' to continue.
yes
[08:52:27/5874] Work directory: /home/pi/tt-rss
[08:52:27/5874] Checking for tar...
[08:52:27/5874] Checking for gunzip...
[08:52:27/5874] Checking for latest version...
[08:52:27/5874] Target version: 1.9
[08:52:27/5874] Proceeding to download...
[08:53:13/5874] Downloading distribution tarball...
[08:53:13/5874] Could not download distribution tarball (https://github.com/gothfox/Tiny-Tiny-RSS/archive/1.9.tar.gz).


using wget, i verified that the file exists and can be downloaded.
could anyone please shed the light over the issue.
thank you all...

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: in place upgrade under command line

Postby fox » 03 Aug 2013, 13:41

There is a variety of possible causes for this, I would suggest you download the archive manually and upgrade this way. It's not like it's much harder: unpack, copy config.php back, maybe copy feed-icons, and you're done.

MrSmith
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 2
Joined: 03 Aug 2013, 13:19

Re: in place upgrade under command line

Postby MrSmith » 03 Aug 2013, 14:11

firstly, thank you for the quick answer and the amazing work that you do.
secondly, can you point why the error occurred?

lyda
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 7
Joined: 25 Jun 2013, 18:05

Re: in place upgrade under command line

Postby lyda » 03 Aug 2013, 17:25

MrSmith wrote:firstly, thank you for the quick answer and the amazing work that you do.
secondly, can you point why the error occurred?


You need to install the php5 curl module. The updater uses that to do the update.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests