Page 1 of 2

Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 09:40
by vincen
Hi,

I have a lot of feeds moving to feedburner and having issues with TTR. What is current status for handling Feedburner feed in TTR ?

Thanks,

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 09:44
by AngryChris
Have you enabled the af_unburn plugin that comes with the software?

Code: Select all

af_unburn   Resolves feedburner and similar feed redirector URLs (requires CURL)   1.00   fox

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 09:56
by vincen
AngryChris wrote:Have you enabled the af_unburn plugin that comes with the software?

yep thanks for suggestion but already installed and still unable to load Feedburner feeds :(

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 10:15
by fox
>What is current status for handling Feedburner feed in TTR ?

Feedburner feeds work just fine for me.

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 10:26
by vincen
fox wrote:Feedburner feeds work just fine for me.

For example this one: http://feeds.feedburner.com/typepad/vibert/macandphoto loads fine in my Chrome Browser (I can see the xml content) but in TTR (running on my server) it gets a LibXML error :(

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 10:45
by fox
Works fine here.

e: on latest trunk

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 11:01
by vincen
fox wrote:Works fine here.
e: on latest trunk

oky, wait impatiently then for next release :D

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 12:27
by xtaz
Try adding ?format=xml on the end of the feed URL. That quite often sorts them out. Anyone who uses feedburner needs to die.

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 12:34
by fox
This pretty much only affects fuckwits who change their tt-rss user-agent to imitate a browser.

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 12 Sep 2013, 17:35
by sleeper_service
vincen wrote:
fox wrote:Works fine here.
e: on latest trunk

oky, wait impatiently then for next release :D


what is this luddite fascination some people have with a 'release'?

from the faq:
I thought about using trunk (e.g. development version from git), is it stable enough?

By all means, if you have basic git knowledge, go ahead and use trunk. I don't do truly experimental development on it because it's a daily driver for me personally and my friends who use the same instance, which is why it should stay functional. Actual versioned releases are not much more than tagged trunk snapshots taken at a given date.

By using trunk code you also help catching bugs in functionality I don't personally use before release, which makes it easier for people who don't follow trunk. It's good for everyone.

If you don't have basic git knowledge, there's a lot of tutorials available on cloning a repository, for example:

http://git-scm.com/book/en/Git-Basics-G ... Repository

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 19 Sep 2013, 14:20
by Guillermo
I'm now getting this with all my FeedBurner subscriptions:

Code: Select all

7 Failed to connect to 2a00:1450:4013:c01::76: Network is unreachable


To rule out it's an IPv6 specific problem, I added curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_IPRESOLVE, CURL_IPRESOLVE_V4); but that didn't change it.

Is my server's IP simply blocked? Updated once every hour for some time now, once every 15 minutes when I opened up the web interface. Too much to ask from Google?

crap.png
crap.png (19.04 KiB) Viewed 4385 times

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 19 Sep 2013, 15:39
by xtaz
Works here:

Code: Select all

$ telnet 2a00:1450:4013:c01::76 80
Trying 2a00:1450:4013:c01::76...
Connected to ea-in-x76.1e100.net.
Escape character is '^]'.


I had that error in tt-rss occasionally myself when I had no IPv6 connectivity. An hour later it would happily work though. Even though the settings on my server were to prefer IPv4 over v6 it still tried 6. I *assumed* it was because it was unable to temporarily connect to the v4 address and so tried to fall back to v6 which failed and it logged that error. I've since got IPv6 connectivity working again and so it's no longer any problem.

Probably worth seeing if you can connect to the IPv4 address that those feeds resolve to. Or if you don't have any IPv6 connectivity disable it completely so it's never attempted to be used.

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 19 Sep 2013, 16:24
by Guillermo
First, my hosting provider told me that IPv6 is indeed disabled (so this is turning out to be - most probably - another problem than the topic starter's, so sorry for the hostile take-over...), hence curl IPv6 resolving is impossible.

As to your suggestion, seems like it's gonna be a problem:

http://whatismyipaddress.com/hostname-ip says:
Lookup Hostname: ea-in-x76.1e100.net
Lookup IP Address: none

http://www.hcidata.info/host2ip.cgi says:
Host Name : ea-in-x76.1e100.net
IP Address : ea-in-x76.1e100.net cannot be resolved to an IP Address
Location : Unknown

Next thing I tried: adding the following not to functions.php, but to af_unburn/init.php:

Code: Select all

curl_setopt($ch, CURLOPT_IPRESOLVE, CURL_IPRESOLVE_V4);

Unfortunately, to no avail...

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 21 Sep 2013, 15:14
by Guillermo
Just checked again, and I got some (definitely not all, prolly just due to feed .xml's max. # of posts) posts again, first since the 12th. No idea why it would work again (even with IPv4 resolving forced, I kept getting connection timeouts) other than that my server's IP was indeed temporarily blocked. I might set my cron job to once every two hours, although I think it's absolutely crazy that once every hour would get me into any trouble. Thanks Google, wonderful... :( Genuine thanks for the help in here, though. :)

Re: Feedburner status ?

Posted: 28 Sep 2013, 22:45
by Guillermo
Meh, all feeds are inaccessible again. I'm probably getting blacklisted every time, but it could be something else... Basically makes the whole tt-rss installation useless, hate it. Any ideas?