1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby fox » 27 Sep 2013, 13:38

OK, I'll add a config.php knob which will mention the CPU usage.

e: https://github.com/gothfox/Tiny-Tiny-RS ... ad8b67379d

I'll sticky this thread until 1.11 lands.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby sleeper_service » 27 Sep 2013, 16:36

fox wrote:I'll sticky this thread until 1.11 lands.

*applies glue to thread*

hrk
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 75
Joined: 24 Apr 2013, 12:39

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby hrk » 29 Sep 2013, 12:51

TL;DR: possible bullshit.

(real) TL;DR: add (default) lang variable to feed item, then, if set, use it instead of LanguageDetection during feed-update.

This relates to my setup, but I feel confident it may be a widespread scenario. My feeds only show articles in a single language. They're either in english (engadget, such stuff) or in my mother tongue. I don't ever remember a single feed ever using two languages in its articles, if not for possible "quotes" inside the main article. In such a case, identifying it by an automally detected single language would still be somewhat weird ("look it's 51% english!" - "so what, you're hyphenathing the 49% italian words wrong, wtf?").

In such setup, I (propose that I) could just, optionally, select the main language in the preferences of the feed, when I first add it[1]. Then during update, if set, use feed-lang for article-lang value. If unset, use LanguageDetection.

Do you have feeds showing articles in multiple languages? Would a static lang for the remaining feeds feel worth or worthless as an option?

[1] mod: use LangugeDetection on the raw feed articles at first retrieval and ask for confirmation... if you really crave to use LanguageDetection :D

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby fox » 29 Sep 2013, 14:25

a per feed option, excellent idea

not

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 4

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby sleeper_service » 29 Sep 2013, 19:01

don't worry, he hates all my ideas at first too... (usually at second also)

hrk
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 75
Joined: 24 Apr 2013, 12:39

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby hrk » 29 Sep 2013, 22:31

fox wrote:a per feed option, excellent idea [...] not


Can't we say the same for the "update interval" column/option? :)

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby sleeper_service » 30 Sep 2013, 00:48

hrk wrote:
fox wrote:a per feed option, excellent idea [...] not

Can't we say the same for the "update interval" column/option? :)


no, because that's actually quite useful, some feeds have stuff coming in frequently, some infrequently, doesn't make any sense to hit something every 15 mintues when it's only updated once a day, and conversely, doesn't make sense to pull once a day for something that gets frequent updates, or that you want to know about promptly (like, weather alerts..)

hrk
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 75
Joined: 24 Apr 2013, 12:39

Re: 1.9 to 1.10 - update performance regression

Postby hrk » 30 Sep 2013, 01:49

sleeper_service wrote:no, because that's actually quite useful, some feeds have stuff coming in frequently, some infrequently, doesn't make any sense to hit something every 15 mintues when it's only updated once a day, and conversely, doesn't make sense to pull once a day for something that gets frequent updates, or that you want to know about promptly (like, weather alerts..)


And some feeds have only one language, so the "frequency" of change in language in the their articles is "not gonna happen!" ;-)

I won't push it more. :)


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests