Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
cgrinds
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 34
Joined: 10 Apr 2013, 01:38

Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Postby cgrinds » 25 Nov 2014, 21:26

Hey fox,
I notice in the latest update you moved the catchup all button from the actionbar to the overflow.

Would you reconsider?
It's quite convenient being able to mark all read without having to dig through the menu.

Thanks,
Chris

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Postby fox » 25 Nov 2014, 21:56

i just knew someone would post about it

anyway, what's the point of opening a feed to mark everything as read? ui space is reserved for important functions as per google guidelines and this really isn't one of them imo

cgrinds
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 34
Joined: 10 Apr 2013, 01:38

Re: Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Postby cgrinds » 25 Nov 2014, 22:25

My guess is we're using the client in different ways. There are probably a few different styles of usage that aren't always complementary.

90% of the time I open a feed, scan it, and then click mark read.
In cases where there is something I want to read later I don't mark read and instead wait until I'm back at my desktop. That's the 10% case.

Your workflow must be different.

I understand that ui space is reserved for important functions, but depending on which workflow you use determines what is important. For example, I've never clicked on the "search" and "toggle oldest first" buttons on the actionbar and would trade them out in a heart beat. I'm guessing others feel differently.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Postby fox » 25 Nov 2014, 22:37

you scan it but somehow didn't enable mark as read on scroll

hmmm

cgrinds
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 34
Joined: 10 Apr 2013, 01:38

Re: Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Postby cgrinds » 25 Nov 2014, 22:43

That's right. I do not use mark as read on scroll.
I prefer explicit over implicit, but I'll give it a try again.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Postby fox » 25 Nov 2014, 22:54

let's have a discussion over using two taps instead of one to do something

that went really well the last time

J M L
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 13
Joined: 20 May 2013, 18:23

Re: Android: Remove catchup all button from the actionbar

Postby J M L » 25 Nov 2014, 23:09

Previously I used "Mark Read" with confirmation, so two clicks. I turned off confirmation, so now I do Menu -> Mark Read, so still two clicks. I liked the old way better, but really, it makes almost no difference. I think two clicks is the correct number to catchup a feed, and it doesn't really matter to me what the UI element says that I'm clicking on, as long as they don't move around while the screen draws (something this client has never been guilty of).


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests