Page 1 of 1

opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 26 Sep 2015, 16:29
by tenbergen
I hope this is just a how-to and not a support or feature request, ie I hope I am posting in the right place.

When I deal with a list of content I usually open a bunch in new tabs. My browser is set so that the new tabs are opened in the background and I stay on the original place.

Doesn't seem to work like that in TinyRSS. If I right-click and open in new tab my focus is moved to that tab. Is there a setting to change this to normal browser behaviour?

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 26 Sep 2015, 17:22
by fox
a question is not a howto

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 28 Sep 2015, 04:44
by tenbergen
But what do you mean by that? Are you saying I should post this to a different part of the forum?

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 28 Sep 2015, 13:55
by pahles
Have you ever heard of cmd-click or control-click?

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 28 Sep 2015, 16:25
by tenbergen
Yes, heard of them. They work pretty much the same as right-click -> open new tab that I use. I like the idea but have got used to the mouse way of doing it. Should make no diff, right?
Have you ever tried to use that in TinyTinyRSS? Because when I do, it changes my focus to the new article. For all other sites my focus stays on the original page. What I am trying to find out is why this isn't so in TTRSS, and whether it's a simple thing that I can change or a feature I would need to request.

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 28 Sep 2015, 17:02
by mbazdell
Changing the focus depends mainly on what browser you're using and how you have it configured. Take a look in your options, you should be able to change the behaviour to what you want.

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 28 Sep 2015, 18:18
by HtomSirveaux
While it probably doesn't help your actual question, you can also middle-click (on mine I click the wheel) and it usually does the same as Ctrl-Click.

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 28 Sep 2015, 23:04
by pahles
tenbergen wrote:... but have got used to the mouse way of doing it...

Learn to let go of the mouse. The mouse is highly overrated when in comes to efficiency and speed. Not to mention mouse arm/RSI. You'll thank me later. 8)

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 29 Sep 2015, 04:57
by tenbergen
Phales... how would I do the "click" part in your ctrl-click without my trusty rodent? Anyway, whether I control-click or right-click new tab, the focus still moves to the new window. It only does this in TTRSS , all other sites the focus stays and the article opens in a new tab.

Just tried this in IE. Right click (in TTRSS only) doesn't even give me the option to open in a new tab, I only get the options TTRSS provides when it takes over the right-click (ie. open original article, article URL, etc). ctrl-click actually gives the desired result, open in new tab, but focus stays in TTRSS.

Don't think I will be moving to IE just for this, though, so hoping there is a fix for this instead...

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 29 Sep 2015, 06:05
by randompherret
Middle click (click down on your mouse wheel)

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 29 Sep 2015, 13:14
by fox
i'm not aware of any way to control this behavior when doing window.open(), the browser p much does what it wants

i could be wrong but idk

e: right click -> open original article switches to new tab, middle-clicking opens in background (which is a browser controlled thing i think, that's not something tt-rss is doing)

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 30 Sep 2015, 05:17
by tenbergen
That does it! Middle click opens the article on a new tab in FireFox. Thanks Fox!

Re: opening an entry in a new tab

Posted: 30 Sep 2015, 09:04
by pahles
tenbergen wrote:That does it! Middle click opens the article on a new tab in FireFox. Thanks Fox!


Well, what do you know? That is exactly what this Mozilla support page is saying: https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/startup-home-page-tabs-download-settings#w_tabs

Regarding my earlier reply on letting go of the mouse: of course you need to click every once in a while (hence the cmd-click question earlier). I wast just saying to use the mouse only when needed.