Change admin username

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
basica
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Apr 2014, 11:49

Change admin username

Postby basica » 17 Aug 2016, 11:58

Is there a way to change the admin username from the preferences panel that I'm overlooking? If not, are there any potential issues I could encounter if I just update the database myself manually?

Thanks,

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Change admin username

Postby fox » 17 Aug 2016, 12:16

no, and don't do that.

basica
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Apr 2014, 11:49

Re: Change admin username

Postby basica » 17 Aug 2016, 12:20

Fair enough. Is there a reason behind the admin username not being able to be changed, or are you open for a patch?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Change admin username

Postby fox » 17 Aug 2016, 13:49

it is expected in a few places (i.e. single user mode and such) and there's nothing to gain by rewriting it, so i don't see the point

basica
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 7
Joined: 27 Apr 2014, 11:49

Re: Change admin username

Postby basica » 17 Aug 2016, 14:31

Not a problem, thanks. Main reason I'm interested in changing it was to provide a little extra security so that an attacker wouldn't brute force it etc (though I know you could do something like add http authentication as well with apache or whatever).

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Change admin username

Postby fox » 17 Aug 2016, 15:42

there's no real security to be gained there, if you don't use admin set a 40 character random password and be done with it

JustAMacUser
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 373
Joined: 20 Aug 2013, 23:13

Re: Change admin username

Postby JustAMacUser » 17 Aug 2016, 16:27

TT-RSS also logs failed login attempts so you can use something like fail2ban to block access.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests