Some feeds don't show up properly

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
amit
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 20
Joined: 12 Jan 2012, 13:13

Some feeds don't show up properly

Postby amit » 12 Jan 2012, 13:23

Hello,

Some feeds, e.g. from

http://planet.fedoraproject.org/rss20.xml
http://planet.gnome.org/

don't show up properly; the feed title contains the title as well as feed info, like the author's name and the blog name, making it difficult to identify what the feed title really is.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Some feeds don't show up properly

Postby fox » 12 Jan 2012, 14:29

Try switching between magpie and simplepie, I think this is a known problem with one of the libraries.

amit
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 20
Joined: 12 Jan 2012, 13:13

Re: Some feeds don't show up properly

Postby amit » 17 Feb 2012, 16:25

Thanks; switching to simplepie made this work fine.

Any reason not to change to that as the default?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Some feeds don't show up properly

Postby fox » 17 Feb 2012, 17:19

Because not one of them is objectively better, they just break on different things.

btw I can't help but notice that your last several questions could all have been solved by searching the forum or the bugtracker.

evanjones246
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Apr 2012, 14:36

Re: Some feeds don't show up properly

Postby evanjones246 » 07 Apr 2012, 14:39


daavidfischer
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 1
Joined: 15 Oct 2012, 15:44

Re: Some feeds don't show up properly

Postby daavidfischer » 15 Oct 2012, 16:00

Luckily I found this forum. I was having the same problem. Whenever the feed title contained the title as well as the field info, it would all look messy. I hope they make simplepie the default one. It would make things a lot easier for beginners like me.
David Fischer.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests