Bug found for some Planets

Development-related discussion, including bundled plugins
User avatar
seraphyn
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Feb 2009, 14:26
Contact:

Bug found for some Planets

Postby seraphyn » 08 Feb 2009, 14:37

Hi,
first at all, Thx for this nice Software, runs like a charm on my Server.
Since one week, I got a Problem with some planets:
  1. http://planet.ubuntu.com/rss10.xml
    Gives me as Error:

    Code: Select all

        * Planet Ubuntu (http://planet.ubuntu.com/rss10.xml): XML error: Invalid document end at line 368, column 67
    Same with SimplePie and RSS2.0
  2. http://planet.debianforum.de/rss10.xml
    Give me as Error:

    Code: Select all

        * planet.debianforum.de (http://planet.debianforum.de/rss10.xml): MagpieRSS: Failed to parse RSS file. (XML_ERR_NAME_REQUIRED at line 429, column 46)

  3. http://www.techdirt.com/techdirt_rss.xml
    Give me as Error:

    Code: Select all

    * Techdirt (http://www.techdirt.com/techdirt_rss.xml): MagpieRSS: Failed to parse RSS file. (XML_ERR_NAME_REQUIRED at line 235, column 45)
I work with Debian Lenny, everything runs before as is said like a charm.

And by the way, I make a translation to German at the moment (but not enough time to finish it).
Hope we could find something we could do that'll work again.

Greetings Seraphyn

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Bug found for some Planets

Postby fox » 08 Feb 2009, 15:41

"Planet" script doesn't have any idea about valid XML and it shows - it generates horribly broken markup (using horribly broken content written by retarded blog engines or whatever crap it is set to aggregate) on a regular basis.

On the other hand, tt-rss uses a validating XML parser (Magpie) which requires underlying content to be valid.

Which, basically, means that you can try using SimplePie and hope it works. If it is too broken even for SimplePie, you'll have to wait until the offending post goes away from the planet feed. So it goes.

User avatar
seraphyn
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 6
Joined: 08 Feb 2009, 14:26
Contact:

Re: Bug found for some Planets

Postby seraphyn » 08 Feb 2009, 16:13

SimplePie doesn't work either.
And i know what you mean. Think there should be a rewrite engine in the Planet-Software.
Thanks for the fast answere and whish a nice weekend.
Greetings Chris

iacchi
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 4
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 19:08

Re: Bug found for some Planets

Postby iacchi » 25 Jun 2013, 16:31

I want to add my bit on this: I currently read the Mozilla planet: http://planet.mozilla.org/
With the first version of tt-rss I used (1.7.1?) everything was fine if I well remember; with version 1.7.9 the text was showed but without any layout (the tags were all stripped, so no paragraph, links, and so on). With version 1.8.0 nothing is shown.


Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests