posix_getpid() does not exist in PHP 5.3.1 Win32

Development-related discussion, including bundled plugins
DigitalDJ
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 58
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 12:46

posix_getpid() does not exist in PHP 5.3.1 Win32

Postby DigitalDJ » 09 Feb 2010, 15:16

Just updated to the latest SVN, couldn't update my feed list.

posix_getpid() does not seem to exist as a function on PHP 5.3.1 running on Windows.

To fix, comment out line 2239 in functions.php: fwrite($fp, posix_getpid() . "\n");

or wrap the fwrite line in: if (function_exists('posix_getpid')) { }

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: posix_getpid() does not exist in PHP 5.3.1 Win32

Postby fox » 09 Feb 2010, 16:09

Just a note, given that win32 is not a supported platform, this is not going to be changed in trunk.

DigitalDJ
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 58
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 12:46

Re: posix_getpid() does not exist in PHP 5.3.1 Win32

Postby DigitalDJ » 09 Feb 2010, 16:35

Seriously?!

That's rather disappointing given the fact that it works perfect on an Apache, PHP, MySQL setup.

Even in functions.php you have other "if (function_exists('posix_getpid'))" wrappers around posix function calls. Why not this one? That's a bit inconsistent. Not adding this one line of code completely breaks the feed update process on Windows platforms.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: posix_getpid() does not exist in PHP 5.3.1 Win32

Postby fox » 09 Feb 2010, 17:03

Hmmm... I forgot about the function_exists() thing. Well given that it's purely cosmetic (unless you need to kill the process which made the lock, that is), no harm in wrapping it there too, I suppose.

DigitalDJ
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 58
Joined: 18 Apr 2008, 12:46

Re: posix_getpid() does not exist in PHP 5.3.1 Win32

Postby DigitalDJ » 09 Feb 2010, 17:09

fox wrote:Hmmm... I forgot about the function_exists() thing. Well given that it's purely cosmetic (unless you need to kill the process which made the lock, that is), no harm in wrapping it there too, I suppose.


Thanks, that'll save me patching each time I check out...and I'm sure it'll help other on Win32 come the next release :)


Return to “Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests