Notification

DanielMalmgren
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee

Notification

Postby DanielMalmgren » 17 Nov 2012, 17:19

Hi.
I'm completely new to tt-rss. I stumbled over it yesterday (never heard of it before) and since I'm a believer in hosting stuff myself instead of being dependant on somebody else I immediately liked it. I'm a big user of Google Reader from before, so what I'd like now is to replace it completely with tt-rss.

So far, so good. The only thing I really miss after some hours of tweaking is some good notification. For Google Reader I use an addon called Google Reader Watcher which tells me immediately when I've got something to read and also displays a counter of unread feeds in the top of the browser. I've searched for a while and I can't seem to find anything similar for tt-rss (other than a very old FF addon that doesn't work anymore). So is there any good solution that I've missed? On my laptop I use Windows 7 and Firefox, it would do with either something in Windows or in FF.

And I've got about the same question for the Android app. It's very good and all, but I need to actually start it to see if I've got anything to read. Why no widget?

/Daniel

fox
^ me reading your posts ^

Re: Notification

Postby fox » 17 Nov 2012, 21:27

DanielMalmgren
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee

Postby DanielMalmgren » 17 Nov 2012, 22:04

fox

Postby fox » 18 Nov 2012, 01:02

DanielMalmgren
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee

Postby DanielMalmgren » 18 Nov 2012, 13:07

Ok. I first thought this was some kind of serious project, but now I get the feeling that you are pulling my leg. Of course I've searched in those places (and a heck load of other as well). All I find is addons for Opera, Chrome and really really ancient versions of Firefox. So what you are saying is to get notifications I either have to switch browser completely or downgrade my Firefox to a version from 2010?