daemon user needs shell?

User avatar
blainemono
Gaping Anus of Eternity
Gaping Anus of Eternity
Posts: 246
Joined: 05 Jun 2009, 18:13

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby blainemono » 15 May 2013, 16:19

So rude! I'll have you know that I am a woman trapped in an eternal anus' body.

User avatar
TauTau
BANNED_USERS
BANNED_USERS
Posts: 13
Joined: 15 May 2013, 14:18

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby TauTau » 15 May 2013, 16:32

funny... since there's no option to do that myself, please delete my account and personal data. I'm looking for something more professional meanwhile.

User avatar
blainemono
Gaping Anus of Eternity
Gaping Anus of Eternity
Posts: 246
Joined: 05 Jun 2009, 18:13

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby blainemono » 15 May 2013, 16:48

I wish you great success in all your future endeavours!

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby sleeper_service » 15 May 2013, 22:19


User avatar
TauTau
BANNED_USERS
BANNED_USERS
Posts: 13
Joined: 15 May 2013, 14:18

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby TauTau » 15 May 2013, 22:36

I'm a Enterprise server admin for 20 years now. I have no Linux at home, because I don't need it. Obviously in an enterprise environment, you don't run LAMP (at least not the MP part), that's why my php knowledge is limited. If someone needs to get their head stuck up their asses because of that, fine. Fortunately, this forum is not the only pool of knowledge out there.

And to anyone with the same error: check the php-cli php.ini for safe_mode, it needs to be off. No, it wasn't config.php. It was a lack of documentation, and high-nosed developers (fortunately at work, *I* tell developers what to do, a software without proper documentation doesn't get on our servers).

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby fox » 15 May 2013, 23:15

Let me be the first to say how humbled we all are by your enterprisey experience and ability to not throw tantrums on random internet forums.

Truly you are an example to us all.

User avatar
blainemono
Gaping Anus of Eternity
Gaping Anus of Eternity
Posts: 246
Joined: 05 Jun 2009, 18:13

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby blainemono » 15 May 2013, 23:16

don't forget 20 years of lamp administration expertise!

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby fox » 15 May 2013, 23:17

The lamp ain't gonna clean itself, bub.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby sleeper_service » 16 May 2013, 00:15


User avatar
dxbi
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 62
Joined: 16 Mar 2013, 13:44

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby dxbi » 16 May 2013, 01:07


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby fox » 16 May 2013, 01:09

btw this needs to be updated as safe_mode is actually supported, despite what our resident enterprise guru decided.

User avatar
HunterZ
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 60
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 03:30
Location: Seattle

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby HunterZ » 16 May 2013, 09:02

Attachments
config.txt
(9.03 KiB) Downloaded 118 times
log.txt
(22.86 KiB) Downloaded 118 times

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby fox » 16 May 2013, 09:24

Check if PHP_EXECUTABLE defined in config.php is actually a PHP cli interpreter and you can run update subtasks using it, e.g. "/usr/bin/php update.php"

User avatar
HunterZ
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 60
Joined: 21 Mar 2013, 03:30
Location: Seattle

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby HunterZ » 16 May 2013, 09:34

Last edited by HunterZ on 16 May 2013, 09:36, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: daemon user needs shell?

Postby fox » 16 May 2013, 09:35

This is not the CLI php interpreter, read updating feeds.


Return to “Comedy bistro”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests