No automatic feed updates

If you run tt-rss on an officially unsupported platform (shared hosting, Windows, etc.) post here
lockheed
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Feb 2014, 20:43

No automatic feed updates

Postby lockheed » 06 Feb 2014, 20:52

I don't know if this is normal, or am I doing something wrong, but RSS feeds in my TTRSS installation do not update automatically. I have to go a feed with my browser, and press F5 to get updates even, if I am logging in after 1 or 2 days.

I was not able to use the daemon update method, but I set an cron job that repeats every 15 minutes.

Code: Select all

/usr/bin/php /home/xxx/public_html/tt-rss/update.php --feeds --quiet


Now, it does nothing, even if I run it in an ssh terminal

Code: Select all

# /usr/bin/php /home/xxx/public_html/tt-rss/update.php --feeds --quiet
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.3.27
Content-type: text/html


I still have to hit F5 in the browser.
Is this normal?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby fox » 06 Feb 2014, 21:13

read the relevant wiki pages while paying attention.

lockheed
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Feb 2014, 20:43

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby lockheed » 06 Feb 2014, 21:43

Ah, it's you. I've seen your posts around here before.
I see this manner is a norm for you.

mrc0mmand
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 06 Feb 2014, 21:49

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby mrc0mmand » 06 Feb 2014, 21:53

You are probably using wrong php library.

Citation from Wiki
Use this if you have access to PHP command line interpreter but not allowed (e.g. by your hosting provider) to run persistent background processes. Do not try to run cronjobs with a PHP CGI binary, it's not going to work. If you see HTTP headers being displayed when you run php ./update.php you are using an incorrect binary.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby sleeper_service » 06 Feb 2014, 21:59

lockheed wrote:Ah, it's you. I've seen your posts around here before.
I see this manner is a norm for you.

who did you expect? the easter bunny?

:roll:

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby sleeper_service » 06 Feb 2014, 22:03

mrc0mmand wrote:You are probably using wrong php library.

Citation from Wiki
Use this if you have access to PHP command line interpreter but not allowed (e.g. by your hosting provider) to run persistent background processes. Do not try to run cronjobs with a PHP CGI binary, it's not going to work. If you see HTTP headers being displayed when you run php ./update.php you are using an incorrect binary.


that's a valiant effort, but we've seen his type around here before, they don't bother to read on their own, they just post the same old questions over and over, ignoring faqs and wiki pages and make snarky comments to the guy that writes the code...

even if you rub their noses in it, swat them on the rear and sternly say "BAD DOG!" they persist.

I wish you luck ;)

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby fox » 06 Feb 2014, 22:08

lockheed wrote:Ah, it's you. I've seen your posts around here before.


no shit

Latimer
Bear Rating Master
Bear Rating Master
Posts: 131
Joined: 17 Mar 2013, 19:35

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby Latimer » 06 Feb 2014, 22:18

What I don't understand, among other things, is why you use --quiet when trying to figure out your problem.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby fox » 06 Feb 2014, 22:20

btw this is what I figure op looks like:

Image

op, consider going back to reddit.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby sleeper_service » 06 Feb 2014, 22:26

Latimer wrote:What I don't understand, among other things, is why you use --quiet when trying to figure out your problem.

shh, error messages are SOOOO annoying, better to tell 'em to hush up! :lol:

lockheed
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 3
Joined: 06 Feb 2014, 20:43

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby lockheed » 08 Feb 2014, 01:30

Hah, what a fun forum :D

mrc0mmand wrote:You are probably using wrong php library

Thanks, but if I did, then running the very same command in command line would not work, neither.


fox wrote:op, consider going back to reddit.

Oh, look, another wrong assumption. Sorry, never used reddit.


Latimer wrote:What I don't understand, among other things, is why you use --quiet when trying to figure out your problem.

Good point.

But it wouldn't return any error, because...

... I solved the problem by enabling "Default feed update interval", which I previously disabled because of recurring error message along the lines of "Failed to update feed" being displayed in the client, which made me think it only applies if I I run the first update method from the wiki.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby sleeper_service » 08 Feb 2014, 02:19

lockheed wrote:Hah, what a fun forum :D

mrc0mmand wrote:You are probably using wrong php library

Thanks, but if I did, then running the very same command in command line would not work, neither.


Even though I realize you're too smart for all of us, just what do you think this means: If you see HTTP headers being displayed when you run php ./update.php you are using an incorrect binary. and why do you think it doesn't apply to you?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby fox » 08 Feb 2014, 02:29

The important question here is why do we care.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: No automatic feed updates

Postby sleeper_service » 08 Feb 2014, 02:42

every now and then, I got a faint, brief glimpse of hope for humanity, and then something like lockheed comes along and smashes it flat.


Return to “Unsupported platforms”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests