Not all feeds are updating

If you run tt-rss on an officially unsupported platform (shared hosting, Windows, etc.) post here
dariottolo
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 27
Joined: 05 Jul 2014, 18:57

Not all feeds are updating

Postby dariottolo » 06 Feb 2015, 17:06

Hi all,

I have a total of 537 feeds. All of them are set up to follow default update interval, which is each 30 minutes.
Update.php is run via cron once an hour.

I noticed that in the report received via email, only 453 feeds are updated:

X-Powered-By: PHP/5.5.21
Content-type: text/html

[13:00:02/2] Lock: update.lock
[13:00:02/2] Scheduled 453 feeds to update......
...
...
[13:38:51/2] Processed 453 feeds in 2329.6879 (sec), 5.1428 (sec/feed avg)
[13:38:51/2] Sending digests, batch of max 15 users, headline limit = 1000
[13:38:51/2] All done.
[13:38:51/2] cache/simplepie: removed 0 files.
[13:38:51/2] cache/images: removed 0 files.
[13:38:51/2] cache/export: removed 0 files.
[13:38:51/2] cache/upload: removed 0 files.
[13:38:51/2] Removed 0 old lock files.
[13:38:51/2] Removing old error log entries...
[13:38:52/2] Feedbrowser updated, 164 feeds processed.
[13:38:52/2] Purged 106 orphaned posts.
[13:38:52/2] Cleaned 0 cached tags.


This happens also if I run update.php manually or using --force-update

Cheching the database, the value for last_update_started in ttrss_feeds is earlier than 13:00 for 84 feeds, so that the total is coherent.

Looking in the database's table, I can't find any different value between updated and not updated feeds...

I cloned the latest version from github yesterday, using PostgreSQL.

Should I re-import feeds or is there anything else I can do?

Thank you in advance.

Regards

Dario

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Not all feeds are updating

Postby sleeper_service » 07 Feb 2015, 05:18

dariottolo wrote:Hi all,

I have a total of 537 feeds. All of them are set up to follow default update interval, which is each 30 minutes.
Update.php is run via cron once an hour.

I noticed that in the report received via email, only 453 feeds are updated:


you might wanna start using update_daemon2.php and have it cranking along multithreaded with that many feeds.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Not all feeds are updating

Postby fox » 07 Feb 2015, 13:25

that shouldn't depend on it

idk maybe they have update interval set to disabled or something?

you can also try running update.php --force-update once

dariottolo
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 27
Joined: 05 Jul 2014, 18:57

Re: Not all feeds are updating

Postby dariottolo » 07 Feb 2015, 18:37

I just "force updated" all the feeds via ssh, but still 500 were really updated.

I edited all the feeds via Preferences, setting update each 15 minutes. The value is immediatly reflected in the database, ttrss_feeds, update interval (15 for all the lines of the feeds).
But if I run the update.php again, only 500 feeds are marked for update.

Is there any value in the database that I can check in order to see if the update interval is disabled for some feeds?

Having so many, manually checking each of them is quite time consuming, plus I thought that editing them all at once via the preferences would have fixed the issue.

Additionally, I have the feeling some of the feeds that are not updated, will be updated sometime later on. I think the updating process somehow "rotates" the feeds, leaving some of them "behind". But this assumption might be completely worng.

Please let me know if I should provide additional information.

Regards

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Not all feeds are updating

Postby fox » 07 Feb 2015, 18:49

yes, default limit is 500 for one batch, you can override it in config.php but you shouldn't need to. given that you're no longer stuck at 453 feeds the rest should just update during the subsequent launches.

>Is there any value in the database that I can check in order to see if the update interval is disabled for some feeds?

update_interval should not be -1

> I think the updating process somehow "rotates" the feeds, leaving some of them "behind".

yeah it just sorts by last_updated, gets 500 oldest and goes from there

dariottolo
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 27
Joined: 05 Jul 2014, 18:57

Re: Not all feeds are updating

Postby dariottolo » 09 Feb 2015, 16:38

Thank you fox.

I missed the value in config.php. I run update.php twice and all the feeds were marked for update.

Thank you again for the support.

Regards


Return to “Unsupported platforms”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest