Page 1 of 1

Mark Older Than...

Posted: 31 Mar 2013, 06:28
by QuickBASIC
I've had tt-rss running for about a week now and I'm getting used to the Android app and web version, etc...

I have enough feeds that I don't keep up with and with the-reader-that-should-not-be-named I was able to mark posts older than a day as read, so I could clear out stuff that I wasn't going to get to anyway and concentrate on posts that were more recent. I'd love to see a the ability to do this with tt-rss.

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 31 Mar 2013, 12:38
by fox
This sounds like a useful thing. Commence stealing.

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 02 Apr 2013, 17:58
by justauser
I pulled the master last night and installed. This is a nice feature, but it is a bit quirky. I select "all articles" the first time and it marks them, but then stays as the selected item in the box. That means that next time I have to select "mark as read" from the dropdown, which is inconsistent. And, for the normal case, this adds an extra set of mouse motions. Lastly, when I do this I get some strange behaviors on the tree side. For example, I have a top level folder "my feeds" that has folders of feeds. I select that folder and "All articles" and that top level has the unread count as cleared, but 3 folders underneath still show unread articles. Click one of those and it expands the folder and eventually clears the unread count.

Love the capability. I'd suggest a button to mark read and then the drop down to specify the length. That way I can set the interval and just clikc one button. Also, several clients (dedicated and google reader) have this capability. Some do fixed intervals and some allow the user to specify. The fixed intervals usually include 1 day, 2 days and the ones you have. The variable allow the user to set N hours/days/weeks/months.

thanks for the code.

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 02 Apr 2013, 18:40
by fox
Yeah the menu item should reset.

Don't OCD over counters. They will update eventually.

Edit: [master b704161] fix mark as read dropdown not resetting

>Love the capability. I'd suggest a button to mark read and then the drop down to specify the length. That way I can set the interval and just clikc one button.

Yeah let's add a few buttons and gauges in there, maybe some blinking lights, after all it's a very important and complex feature.

>Also, several clients (dedicated and google reader) have this capability.

ffs

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 02 Apr 2013, 19:30
by justauser
sorry if I am suggesting too much. I am mostly concerned with efficient reading of large amounts of feeds/articles. so it isn't that I want frills, but just fewer steps/clicks. you are right that using anything other than the all articles is pretty rare, so that is the use case I want to have be one click. i'll look at modding the javascript myself and posting for those interested.

thanks for the feature.

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 02 Apr 2013, 19:39
by fox
btw with new toolbar plugin functionality you can add a custom dropdown in there with whatever values.

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 02 Apr 2013, 22:28
by justauser
A couple of simple changes to index.php did it for what I wanted. Here is a screen shot of my look:

toolbar.png
toolbar.png (23.65 KiB) Viewed 2495 times

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 14 May 2013, 14:19
by ttrssmailinator
It seems that mark older than with one day and one week works, but mark older than two weeks marks everything read. v1.7.9.

Re: Mark Older Than...

Posted: 14 May 2013, 14:28
by fox