Adding new language to loginnlist

Questions about interface translations go here
christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Adding new language to loginnlist

Postby christian » 26 Dec 2007, 15:06

How do I add a new language to the loginnlist, so that I can test my translation?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Postby fox » 26 Dec 2007, 16:02

1. Add your language to get_translations() (functions.php line 12 and below).

2. Create directory locale/(your locale)/LC_MESSAGES and copy messages.po there

3. Update .po if needed and compile .po to .mo (run ./update-translations.sh)

If you are just starting, update-translations.sh creates messages.pot which you can use as a starting point.

christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Postby christian » 27 Dec 2007, 02:19


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Postby fox » 27 Dec 2007, 09:33

What do you mean - broken? The file is in utf-8:

Image

christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Postby christian » 27 Dec 2007, 14:34

But it looks ugly on the menu: http://feeds.vindstille.net

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Postby fox » 27 Dec 2007, 15:36

The fact that you have edited the file with some broken editor that doesn't support UTF-8 and screwed up the encoding doesn't mean that the file in question was originally broken.

Try it on http://online.tt-rss.org and see for yourself.

christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Postby christian » 27 Dec 2007, 17:52

It was like that before I touched the files...

christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Postby christian » 27 Dec 2007, 18:09

I normally use nano to edit files, any solution for it not to break the encoding?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Postby fox » 27 Dec 2007, 19:00


christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Postby christian » 27 Dec 2007, 23:42


christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Postby christian » 28 Dec 2007, 17:47


User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Postby fox » 28 Dec 2007, 20:26


christian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 10
Joined: 25 Dec 2007, 16:06
Contact:

Postby christian » 28 Dec 2007, 21:53



Return to “Translations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests