Automatically update browser

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
nylithic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 19:15

Automatically update browser

Postby nylithic » 09 Apr 2013, 19:17

Hello,

Is it possible to update the actual feed list in the browser to display new feeds when they come in without refreshing or clicking on all articles and fresh articles?

Thanks

User avatar
idoxlr8
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 46
Joined: 25 Mar 2013, 20:04
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby idoxlr8 » 09 Apr 2013, 19:41


nylithic
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Apr 2013, 19:15

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby nylithic » 09 Apr 2013, 20:20

I have a daemon running and it updates the feeds. My question is is it possible to have the new feed items automatically appear on my feed list without clicking any links. Sort of like an ajaxy thing. Right now it updates and shows the number, but i have to click on the appropriate feed to actually see the new items or click on all articles or fresh articles. I just want to stay on all articles and have new items appear automatically.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby fox » 09 Apr 2013, 20:47

No, headlines will not refresh automatically.

jchristi
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 17
Joined: 03 Apr 2013, 21:18

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby jchristi » 10 Apr 2013, 01:25

nylithic, ttrss doesn't support that but as you said it should be possible to develop via ajax. I'm sure someone will probably implement it at some point so...patience :D

ArchCarrier
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 20:35

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby ArchCarrier » 26 Sep 2013, 13:35

I came here to ask the same question; has there been any work on this issue? It's a little strange that the number of unread feeds in the page title and the list of feeds get updated, but you have to manually click 'All articles' to actually see the new headlines.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby fox » 26 Sep 2013, 14:06

Is it really that hard to look two posts above?

ArchCarrier
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 16
Joined: 04 Apr 2013, 20:35

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby ArchCarrier » 26 Sep 2013, 14:58

I actually referred to the post right before mine. I was thinking of a plugin that might have been coded in the months between our posts.

User avatar
sleeper_service
Bear Rating Overlord
Bear Rating Overlord
Posts: 884
Joined: 30 Mar 2013, 23:50
Location: Dallas, Texas

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby sleeper_service » 26 Sep 2013, 17:34

ArchCarrier wrote:I actually referred to the post right before mine. I was thinking of a plugin that might have been coded in the months between our posts.


oh, woe is you, having to click something...

write back when your clicking finger falls off.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby fox » 26 Sep 2013, 18:15

Main problem here is that this behaviour is going to be bloody annoying. Oh wait I was reading something when the new article came in, poof it's gone.

roshambo
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 35
Joined: 19 Jun 2013, 20:03

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby roshambo » 29 Sep 2013, 03:11

That wouldn't be a problem if it added to the list instead of refreshed. There is an auto refresh userscript but it comes with the critical annoyance fox talks about.

EDIT: Or well trying this now which might append, http://userscripts.org/topics/129135

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby fox » 29 Sep 2013, 09:54

roshambo wrote:That wouldn't be a problem if it added to the list instead of refreshed.


Headlines are sorted newest to oldest. Here you are, happily reading some shitty articles, half way down the buffer when suddenly new headline appears. Where should it be added?

1. To the bottom, it breaks the timeline consistency, 20 people come frothing at the mouth for you on the forums
2. To the top, you never even see it, it gets marked down as read automatically, people come frothing at the mouth whining where are their headlines rawr
3. Somewhere else

It's a fucking bad idea. Stop asking for it.

roshambo
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 35
Joined: 19 Jun 2013, 20:03

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby roshambo » 29 Sep 2013, 10:13

We've already discussed this and while I still agree sorting by new could mess up the order but could work quite well when sorting by oldest. There's already situations where the order gets messed up because of varying update times and adding new articles at the end would just be another one.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby fox » 29 Sep 2013, 10:16

We've already discussed this and while I still agree sorting by new could mess up the order but could work quite well when sorting by oldest.


Yes, let's all this shit in there because of this one mode which is not even the default.

There's already situations where the order gets messed up because of varying update times and adding new articles at the end would just be another one.


This is entirely different and only happens for broken feeds, you propose fucking over the timeline arbitrarily because you are too lazy to press f r. Stop it already.

hrk
Bear Rating Disaster
Bear Rating Disaster
Posts: 75
Joined: 24 Apr 2013, 12:39

Re: Automatically update browser

Postby hrk » 29 Sep 2013, 12:08

fox wrote:1. To the bottom, it breaks the timeline consistency, 20 people come frothing at the mouth for you on the forums

"MY TIMELINE!"
Image

fox wrote:2. To the top, you never even see it, it gets marked down as read automatically, people come frothing at the mouth whining where are their headlines rawr


"WHERE ARE MY HEADLINES RAWR!"
Image

fox wrote:3. Somewhere else


"I'm waiting for you to declare where, so then I can rawr at you..."
Image

I'm in the "oldest first"-side of the fence here, but I don't mind clicking again on the entry on the left if I see the number hasn't decreased to 0 after I f-q it, or I finish browing feeds.

e: the "add to the top if newest-first" is even more broken, as an idea, since I guess doing a f-q when reaching the bottom would automagically mark as read articles I never saw on the feed. I'd really rawr at fox on the forums. I switched from Eudora to something else when I noticed it ate one of my messages (who knows how much messages it downloaded and never showed me...).


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests