Update daemon is not updating feeds

Questions about http://online.tt-rss.org go here
mimox
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 27
Joined: 21 May 2010, 21:16

Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby mimox » 28 Oct 2010, 11:07

Since yesterday, I did not get any new feeds. There is some error box at the top of the screen "Update daemon is not updating feeds" and this is the whole error message:

---
Update daemon is taking too long to perform a feed update. This could indicate a problem like crash or a hang. Please check the daemon process or contact instance owner.

Last update: 2010.10.27, 10:48
---

Hypernova
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Jan 2010, 06:56

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby Hypernova » 28 Oct 2010, 11:13

I have the same error. Is this the downtime in the sticky thread?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby fox » 28 Oct 2010, 11:51

Nope, that was just daemon being stuck. I have also merged the latest trunk and updating the schema seems to be taking a while, so hang on tight.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby fox » 28 Oct 2010, 12:04

Looks like it works now.

mimox
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 27
Joined: 21 May 2010, 21:16

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby mimox » 29 Oct 2010, 00:45

fox wrote:Looks like it works now.


It used to... but now I have not gotten any new items for hours. No error message either but there's still something not right I think...

Hypernova
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 7
Joined: 07 Jan 2010, 06:56

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby Hypernova » 29 Oct 2010, 07:11

Exactly the same situation as mimox: It works this morning, then at some point stop working again.

Thanks for the info, fox.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby fox » 29 Oct 2010, 09:27

Dunno, it looked like it was working. Well, I have restarted it, let's see how it goes.

futtta
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 30
Joined: 16 Dec 2009, 00:20
Location: belgium
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby futtta » 29 Oct 2010, 10:03

same here, no myriad of mashable articles that normally pour in over the night :)

futtta
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 30
Joined: 16 Dec 2009, 00:20
Location: belgium
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby futtta » 29 Oct 2010, 10:06

should've posted this earlier, updated are pooring in! :D

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby fox » 29 Oct 2010, 14:35

Found one more feed which seems to hang the daemon for some reason: http://www.netzpolitik.org/feed/

futtta
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 30
Joined: 16 Dec 2009, 00:20
Location: belgium
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby futtta » 01 Nov 2010, 20:28

the daemon seems to be hanging again?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby fox » 01 Nov 2010, 20:55

Looks like it works to me.

I'd like to note that "omg I had no stuff for the last hour" is probably not the best reason to start the alarms. There's a lot of users and only 2 update processes running, stuff can take a while.

futtta
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 30
Joined: 16 Dec 2009, 00:20
Location: belgium
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby futtta » 01 Nov 2010, 21:03

weird, i do see the "Update daemon is not running" error message. i'll try reloading the entire page.

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Update daemon is not updating feeds

Postby fox » 01 Nov 2010, 23:26

Ah, right. Looks like this one cleanup script I have added yesterday happily erased daemon's lockfile, it was actually running though. Should be fixed now. :)


Return to “Online”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests