Location in the .pot is incorrect

Support requests, bug reports, etc. go here. Dedicated servers / VDS hosting only
kaistian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 9
Joined: 07 Feb 2015, 14:01

Location in the .pot is incorrect

Postby kaistian » 16 Aug 2015, 20:06

Poedit has a great feature to look at reference. I use it to find in which setting the words are used since it has an impact on the translation.
I think this is called location in xgettext.

A example from messages.pot

Code: Select all

#: classes/feeds.php:1060 classes/pref/users.php:397
#: classes/pref/feeds.php:640 classes/pref/feeds.php:867
#: classes/pref/feeds.php:1839
msgid "Login"
msgstr ""


But the actual lines is

Code: Select all

$ grep -n Login classes/pref/feeds.php
643:                    placeHolder=\"".__("Login")."\"
880:                    placeHolder=\"".__("Login")."\" disabled=\"1\"
1835:                                   placeHolder=\"".__("Login")."\"


Is it possible to get the locations updated to the correct line numbers?

User avatar
fox
^ me reading your posts ^
Posts: 6318
Joined: 27 Aug 2005, 22:53
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Re: Location in the .pot is incorrect

Postby fox » 16 Aug 2015, 22:08

i don't rebase translations after every code change because well it's too much effort

you can always do that yourself if you work on a translation, just run the script in utils/

however this would also update all translation files so if you plan on merging later only include your .po file in the merge request / git patch

kaistian
Bear Rating Trainee
Bear Rating Trainee
Posts: 9
Joined: 07 Feb 2015, 14:01

Re: Location in the .pot is incorrect

Postby kaistian » 24 Aug 2015, 20:50

Ah, of course.
I just run the 3 xgettext in the script an load the .pot in Poedit.

Thanks.


Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests